Sunday, October 19, 2014

SEALs: Defending America on the Sea, Air, and Land -- Part 3

Dear Readers,

The gold Navy SEAL Trident is reputed to be one of the most difficult military insignias to earn.  Made up of four symbols, which each symbolize something different, the insignia was adopted in 1971.  The eagle represents freedom and American ideals, the musket the right to bear arms and defend American values, the anchor the US Navy, and the trident, which resembles a pitchfork, denotes the maritime nature of the SEALs.

Consider the following which the SEAL hopefuls must learn and accomplish:  underwater reconnaissance, detection of mines and booby traps, seamanship, use of rubber boats, rigorous physical conditioning, long distance surf swimming with equipment, handling of explosives, removal of obstacles, shallow water diving, close order drill, mine sweeping in shallow water.  

Now add to that drills in removing obstacles through use of hand-placed charges, speed and ability in analyzing and solving demolition problems,  night vision and observation of coastal silhouettes, armed and unarmed combat, stealth and concealment.

Perhaps most important in SEAL training is the reliance on and loyalty to team members.  As one leader pointed out, “There is no ‘I” in Team.”

SEALs are one of America’s first line of defense, taking the battle to the enemy.  Is it any wonder that they are the stuff of legends, inspiring movies and books?

May the Lord bless you and the United States of America,


No comments:

Post a Comment